Sunday, September 23, 2007

Minnesota Honors Its Economic Development Leaders

Minnesota knows it takes leadership to bring about economic development. Recently, these leaders were recognized for their contributions to economic development:

-Catherine Jordan, president and CEO of Minneapolis-based Achieve!Minneapolis, a nonprofit that raises private funds for school reform initiatives.

-John Ostrem, president of the Northwest Minnesota Foundation, which works to improve the lives of people in rural Minnesota. Ostrem has been a leader in planning, community and economic development, and philanthropy.

-Yvonne Cheung Ho, president and CEO of the Metropolitan Economic Development Association (MEDA). Ho joined MEDA in 1993 as director of the Business Development and Programs department and served MEDA and the Minnesota Minority Supplier Development Council.

-Sharon Bredeson, a member of the Governor's Workforce Development Council, She has also served on the Minneapolis Workforce Investment Board for 20 years, on its Dislocated Workers committee.

-Trish Taylor, chair of the Central Minnesota Workforce Investment Board, where she represents private industry. Taylor is the co-owner of Monticello-based Taylor Land Surveyors.
-Mike Valentine, executive director of the Two Harbors Development Commission, Valentine has been active in economic development in northeast Minnesota, advocating regional partnerships.

-Judy Mortrude, assistant supervisor of adult learning with Saint Paul Public Schools. Mortrude has been involved in workforce education efforts for more than a decade, and played an instrumental role in Minnesota's Workforce Initiative for a Learning and Mentoring Alliance (WILMA) project.

Source article

No comments: